Sounds like somebody’s got a case of the Mondays…

And that person is me. I am not in a bad mood very often but when I am… I am. Today I am.

So I am taking a few minutes out of my day to consciously get myself in a better mood. Which today includes watching some YouTube videos. I found this one… It is The Simpsons‘ Intro in Legos.

I’m not really a huge Simpsons fan, in fact, I don’t regularly watch The Simpsons although when I went to Japan as an exchange student in high school my host family loved The Simpsons… they named their dog “Helper” like on The Simpsons (they pronounced it “Hair-per” which you have to admit is kinda funny.)

Anyway, they watched The Simpsons every week religiously, which was exciting because even though I didn’t watch The SImpsons all that often, to know it was coming on was a great joy to me. About 4 or 5 days into my stay it was Simpsons night. It had been a crazy day of long bike rides to and from school, awkward physical education classes in ridiculously short gym shorts, and a bout of homesickness so to see a show that was American and that excited my host family was going to be a great pick-me-up.

Well, 8 o’clock rolled around and we all sat down in the living room. It was me and my host two sisters, Yuki and Iori, my host mom and dad, my host grandma and grandpa -who spoke no English and ALWAYS laughed at me when I did, and even Hair-per came inside to join the festivities and watch The Simpsons.

When it came on what I saw was this…

That IS The Simpsons… but that also IS JAPANESE!

I was super excited to watch The SImpsons but not in Japanese. The little bit of Japanese I knew did not set me up well for a cartoon sitcom… that WAS in English, but had been translated into Japanese. I thought it would be in English with Japanese subtitles like Diehard was… but it wasn’t. I quietly sat through it not enjoying it at all, and after it was over I went back to my room figuring if I was gonna watch something in Japanese I didn’t understand it may as well be Charlie’s Angels…

Thanks for letting me share, I feel a little better now. This reminded me of a lot of stories from Japan. Like the time I made a pair of yellow and green Sprite colored shorts in Japanese home-ec or the time I went to the Karaoke place after school with my host sister and 12 other girls when I thought we were going to a fast food restaurant. (It was not explained to me very often where we were going or what we were doing, I just kinda got pulled along.)
Anyway, there are lots of stories to tell but there is also lots of work to be done sooooo… better get back to it.

See ya!

SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.
One Response to “Sounds like somebody’s got a case of the Mondays…”

  1. Kristyl Roberts Says:

    I had a horrible Monday too!! Check out my blog when you get a chance. By the way, I wrote it before I pulled up your blog about your awful monday!! Funny!!

Leave a Reply

