Photo of the Day- 23october2008

Tom and Jerry present Horton Hears A Who!

Today was Story Time with Mr Kevin at Community Kids. It was impromptu, I didn’t really know it was gonna happen this morning when I woke up. I asked Mrs Joyce to pick a story that had lots of different voices. She chose Horton Hears A Who! by Dr. Seuss.

I had never read Horton Hears A Who! My only experience with the story was Chattanooga Christian’s Middle School production of Seussical. Based on that I knew there would be opportunity for lots of fun voices. Plus maybe a few songs.

When the kids came into the library (about ten 2nd graders and their teachers) some of them recognized me from some videos we have done for their worship services. They were saying, “Hey Mr Kevin!” and “Are you gonna eat pig’s feet Mr Kevin?” and “Hey aren’t you the guy who ate pizza?” I said, “Yes,” “Yes,” and “Yes.”

Some of the kids didn’t know me so I said, “Hey, my name is Mr Kevin but you can call me Tom.” One kid said, “You mean like Tom and Jerry?” and I said, “Yup.” He said, “Well can I be Jerry?”

“Sure,” I said. So another kid said, “Hey, I want to be Jerry, can I be Jerry?” I said, “We already have a Jerry… why don’t you be Larry.”

He said okay and so I was Tom, we had a Jerry and we had a Larry. The other kids wanted to be “Jerry” as well so we ended up with a Tom, that was me; a Jerry, a Larry, a Mary, a Terry, a Cherry, a Perry, and even a Blackberry.

With everyone named we began to read Horton Hears A Who! I was excited to read it because with my afternoon being so busy I had still yet to read it. It was so much fun. Jerry was sitting on the steps with me and taking all kinds of pictures with my camera (most of them were pictures of my fingers holding the book or super close ups of Horton.) I was getting to do an elephant’s voice (kinda slow and really elephanty), Kangaroo voices (Australian- female AND baby) , monkey voices (Southern Redneck), Who voices (high squeaky voices), and an eagle’s voice (which for some reason was a German accent), and all kinds of other voices. I was making them up as we went and trying to remember which voice was which and sometimes forgetting to switch back to the narrator’s voice.

The kids were really having fun and I was getting them to HUMPF! and they were yipping and yapping and banging and clanging and we called a big meeting, got everyone out, made every Who holler, made every Who shout!

Afterwards we took a big group picture.

PICTURED: Left to Right (Back Row) Blackberry, Terry, Mary and Larry (Front) Perry, Cherry, and Jerry.

And as in all good cartoons, the adults have no names.

SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.
One Response to “Photo of the Day- 23october2008”

  1. Kristyl Roberts Says:

    Thanks for filling in for me. Sounds like you and the kids had a great time!!

Leave a Reply

