Photo of the Day- 21november2008

40 Yard Dash

Today at work Tony came into the office and started asking me what I run the 40 in. “The ’40’ like the 40 yard dash?” I asked. “I don’t know, I haven’t run it in a long time. I used to be pretty fast back in the day, I ran it in 4 or 5 seconds, but I am older now so I am a little slower.”

I asked why he wanted to know and he started talking about The Turkey Bowl Flag Football Tournament our youth group, along with several other youth groups, is doing tomorrow. He started saying that The Ridgedale Team needed one more player… a fast player… someone who could be a secret weapon.

I let him know that person was definitely not me. I thought that would be the end of it.

Buuuut somehow me saying that turned in to us racing down the long hallway outside the office. It was a disaster waiting to happen. I was dressed like a cowboy and he is old. I have a bad knee and he has a bad hip. Large groups of little kids from the Church Preschool waddle down the hall all the time and old people…. well, old people always seem to pop up out of nowhere shuffling around the corner or popping out of rooms you didn’t even know they were in. Old people are sneaky.

Anyway, it was a disaster waiting to happen… but for some reason we were doing it. We did what we could to create a safe workplace (40 yard hallway race) environment. We had other staff members (secretaries, administrators, custodians, groundskeepers) blocking the side hallways and doorways; we stretched out the best we could, which consisted of a lot of arm stretching for some reason; but I was still dressed like a cowboy and Tony was still old yet for some reason upon David’s command we got on our mark, and then we got set, and then boots slipping and arms flailing we WENT!

21november2008-40-yard-dash

Tony won because he cheated.

Plus I was wearing a cowboy hat which I know caused wind resistance. Ultimately, I am not sure what the race accomplished other than entertaining everyone for 30 seconds or however long it took us to run that 40 yard dash. That and it helped us decide that we would definitely be COACHING tomorrow and not playing.


SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.
2 Responses to “Photo of the Day- 21november2008”

  1. John Says:

    I have an objection:

    “I used to be pretty fast back in the day, I ran it in 4 or 5 seconds, but I am older now so I am a little slower.”

    Considering that a VERY good NFL player runs the 40 in 4.3 seconds, I doubt very much Kevin that you at one time ran it in “4 or 5 seconds.” You work for a church. You should never lie.

  2. kevinthecoolguy Says:

    John, I understand your objection, I know that is pretty fast and it seems a bit exaggerated… but it’s true, when I was in Junior High I played in the NFL.

    But now, like Deion Sanders, I am retired and I am a preacher.

    Wait, is he a preacher or is that MC Hammer? Anyway, the point is that I was once a very, very, very good to mediocre football player who ran the 40 yard dash.

Leave a Reply

