Photo of the Day- 26december2008

26december2008-most-accidents-happen-within-995-miles-of-your-house

Most Accidents Happen Within 995 Miles of Your House.

I kinda cheated on this one, it was actually taken on the morning of 27december2008. Once I explain what happened you will understand.

So I was driving to my dad’s house in Texas. It is almost a thousand miles away. I left late on Thursday night and drove a few hours to a creepy, scary, people-have-died-here motel and then I drove the rest of the way there Friday.

Late Friday night I was about 2 minutes from my dad’s house, I had just talked to my dad on the phone and he said, “Great, you are almost here, see you in a minute.”

When….

And you need to know that my dad lives way out in the country way past where Freeways have turned into Highways which have turned into Streets that have turned into Country Roads that have turned into gravel which have turned into dirt.

Anyway, I had just gotten off the phone with my dad when….

I topped a hill and my headlights shone upon something right in the dead middle of the road. I think it was a dog, my dad thinks it was a coyote, and when I told the girls at the gas station pizza place it had turned into a bear. Anyway, SOMETHING was in the middle of the road!

Having seen about 5 or 6 dead deer on the side of the road in the previous 10 hours driving and thinking about how much damage that probably did to the cars that him them, I did NOT want to hit it.

Also I love animals and I did not want it to die. I mean, how was I to know if it was right with Jesus or not…

So I slammed on my brakes and swerved to the right. I was going about 50 or 60 miles per hour and had just come over the hill so in doing this it caused me to bounce a little bit and jerk too far to the right. Over correcting I jerked my steering wheel to the left which almost caused me to go off the road.

I tried to calmly steer back to the middle by wildly jerking the steering wheel to the right. My car was bouncing and sliding all over the place and the passenger side tires slide off the road onto the gravel and grass.

Saying, “This is bad. This is bad. This is bad. This is bad.” over and over and over again I jerked back to the left which caused me to go off the road to the left before spinning back to the right.

Yeah, spinning.

Somehow I had begun to spin. And swerve. And bounce. And slide. And skid.

And eventually stop.

The picture you have seen is the last of the skid marks. It was on the left side of the road but was actually made by the right side of my car. That was where I had spun too and eventually stopped (at the end of the skid marks on the road.)

I came to a stop sideways and backwards completely blocking the road. I was still saying, “This is bad. This is bad. This is bad.” over and over and over without realizing it. I thought about getting out of my jeep and kissing the ground or kicking the coyote but I was sitting sideways at the bottom of a hill in the middle of a country road. I figured getting out of the way was the best thing.

When I arrived at my dad’s 2 minutes later I realized that my backpack, which was in the passanger’s seat was in my lap. I also noticed that I had not peed my pants.

I thought I might had but i hadn’t. At least that is how I will tell the story.

Anyway, here are some more pictures from that time I almost died.

This is the Top of the Hill of Death

12

Something I haven’t mentioned yet is that just a couple of feet from my skid mark is a ditch.

31

That is close. Here’s where I would have fallen.

35

Another look…

4

That would have hurt. Bad.

Anyway, the point is that I did not die. And neither did the bear.

But this squirrel did.

dsc05895

Notice the lack of skid marks. Whoever hit this squirrel did NOT slow down. And in the future, I will not either. Do you hear that animals?!?!?!?!?

Get right with Jesus, cause next time I’M NOT STOPPING!

SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.
One Response to “Photo of the Day- 26december2008”

  1. KevinTheCoolGuy.com Says:

    […] the Day from the last week or so. You can start here and work your way backwards or you can click HERE and start at the beginning […]

Leave a Reply

