Photo of the Day- 20january2009

20january2009-zinauguration-zaddress

Zinauguration Zaddress.

We couldn’t get tickets to the Inauguration in D.C. so after staff meeting this morning we went to the next best place. Zaxby’s.

We knew they had a tv and that’s why we picked it. Really, it’s true. On one of the most historic days at one of our most historic moments in our nation’s history and we chose, on purpose, to spend it at Zaxby’s. We pushed 4 tables together, ordered our Zalads and our Zandwiches and then we waited and watched.

We listened to the commentators commentate with gems like:

“I bet it is really cold out there.” and “Boy, I bet those people will remember this forever.” and “I wonder what color they will paint the master bathroom.”

Gems, real gems. Of course at this point Zaxby’s had the sound all the way down on the tv and we had to read the subtitles.

And I don’t know if all the really good typers had asked off way in advance or they called in sick or what but somehow Little Johnny McGhee from Mrs Davis’s 5th grade typing class was in charge of the subtitles for one of the most important events in our nation’s history.

He would blatantly misspell words, and then, if some word was too big or too complicated he would just skip it. And the next few after it, and he would pick up 9 words later like it didn’t even matter so that we would get ridiculous sentences like “I wonder what color they are gonna paint… the former President George H.W. Bush and Mrs Bush as they get out of their car.”
Whaaaa??? I’m thinking, Paint the Former President and Mrs Bush??? Is she wearing fur? Surely she is not wearing fur!?!?

As the historic time drew near we figured if we didn’t turn the sound up we were going to have a totally skewed idea of what the tone of Barack Obama’s presidency was going to be about so, with a sign that said, “DO NOT TOUCH”  on the tv, of course, they asked ME to turn it up.

I did and just in time to hear… and SEE Aretha Franklin sing. WOW! What was on her head? Was she trying to single-handedly bail out the bow industry? That thing was GINORMOUS!

And she didn’t sing “R-E-S-P-E-C-T,” she sang, “My Country ‘Tis of Thee”… Huh?? That’s like going to see Lynryd Skynyrd and instead of them singing “Sweet Home Alabama” they sing “My Boyfriend’s Back.” Still a good song but not really what you paid for.

Anyway, she sang, there was other pomp and circumstance, and then Barack was on. He looked great, stood tall, acted confident, and then totally flubbed his line.

Repeat after me…

The guy told him exactly what to say. Had he not practiced it? Had he really not Googled it or gone to the Wikipedia page? I had a part in a play in 3rd grade, I was a squirrel or a rock or something and I had one line, it was something like, “ME TOO!” and I practiced it every day for a month. Are you telling me that he didn’t practice this oath, an oath he was taking in front of hundreds of millions of Americans and BILLIONS of people around the world, and he didn’t practice?

The crowd stiff with anticipation, Chief Justice John G. Roberts began, repeat after me… “I do solemnly swear…”

“that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States…”

“…faithfully…”

“…FAITHFULLY…”

“…execute the Office of the President of the United States…”

“…the OFFICE…”

“…of the President of the United States…”

“… AAhhh, do you cross your heart and hope to die, stick a needle in your eye?”

“Great! Congratulations, you are now the President of the United States of America.”

But after that small hurdle it was smooth sailing! He rocked out his speech and we were all listening intently.

Except for these people…

20january2009-zinauguration-zaddress-2

Who apparently have REALLY interesting lives with REALLY interesting jobs, they MUST, they HAVE TO, for the least exciting thing going on in the middle of your day to be the INAUGURATION OF THE FIRST BLACK PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES EVER!

Anyway, it was an honor to be a part of history. A breaking of barriers, a moment so full of hope and change. I know I will never forget this day, and I can’t wait to have kids who are born into a world where a black President is not anything to make a fuss over, and when I am lucky enough to be a father I am gonna bring my child to the Zaxby’s on East Brainerd Road in Chattanooga, Tennessee and I am gonna say to him, “Zon… this is where history happened.”

SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.
5 Responses to “Photo of the Day- 20january2009”

  1. John Says:

    Perhaps the best post I have ever seen from you… Don’t forget when the captions on the TV simply said at one point (and I quote):

    Drool.
    ….

    (Yes, the “….” was part of it)

    ??? I can see the producer now: “Little Johnny McGhee, what the %#*@!! Get it together son!!!”

    And, to be fair, Roberts flubbed up the words… He was supposed to say “that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States…” but he REALLY said “that I will execute the Office of President of the United States faithfully…”

    I do have to admit, though, I thought for an instant “What IS it with being President of the United States that keeps people from being able to correctly assemble a sentence in the English language?”

  2. Julie Says:

    IF that had been a student of Mrs. Davis, the typing skills would have been PHENOMENAL. Don’t bash this computer teacher!

    (Just so you know, I typed this really carefully because the joke wouldn’t have been near as good if misspelt something) ;)

  3. Liza Says:

    I enjoyed that, immensely.

  4. man in the purple sweater Says:

    I’d like to know who have you permission to use such an unflattering picture of me and my very purple sweater?

    Plus, I was stuffing my face. That’s not very nice of you.

    I’d like some compensation for the use of my image in your blog.

    Please send a fax to me at:

    423-648-9319

    if you want to know who to make the check out to!!!

  5. man in the purple sweater Says:

    I’d like to know who gave you permission to use such an unflattering picture of me and my very purple sweater?

    Plus, I was stuffing my face. That’s not very nice of you.

    I’d like some compensation for the use of my image in your blog.

    Please send a fax to me at:

    423-648-9319

    if you want to know who to make the check out to!!!

Leave a Reply

