Photo of the Day- 05february2009

05february2009-its-a-hybrd

Pampered Chef Has a Gadget For Everything… Well, Everything But That.

Tonight Lori had a Wicked Awesome Pampered Chef  Party at her house. There were 21 women and me. When I found out a couple of weeks ago I was gonna be the only man at the party I thought that “Pampered Chef” Party was code for “bachelorette” party. So I started doing push-ups and sit-ups.

Turns out that Pampered Chef Party is not code for bachelorette party and I was not expected to take off my shirt, which is good because I am not all that comfortable taking my shirt off in front of people. Or doing push-ups and sit-ups.

Anyway, the party turned out great! The soup was a big hit, the bread service was barely an interruption, and 21 chefs were totally pampered.

After everyone left, Jenn (she’s the Pampered Chef Representative) got her car all packed up and said goodbye. I went back inside and went into the restroom. 30 seconds later Lori says through the door, “Uhh, Kevin…. Jenn’s car is stuck in the ditch.”

“What? She was facing forward…” was my response. Meaning that she didn’t have to back out of the driveway, she just had to pull forward and onto the road.

I washed my hands, put on my jacket, and went outside to look.

The first thing I saw was the back left end of her Prius poking 5 feet in the air with her right front end in the ditch as if the earth had opened up and swallowed her earth friendly hybrid.

“Awesome,” was all I could say.

“I had a moment,” Jenn said, “I had a moment.”

“I think we can get it out if we all jump on the back bumper,” Karrie suggested.

“Okay, hold on, let me take a look,” I said.

“I can jump on the back bumper if you want,” Karrie repeated.

“I had a moment,” Jenn said again as she stared at her car, front end in the ditch, back end in the clouds.

“Is it front wheel drive or rear wheel drive?” I asked, figuring it was front wheel drive but checking anyway.

“It’s a hybrid,” she said.

“Yup,” I said and I got in and put it in reverse and tried to back out but the right front wheel just spun and slung a little bit of the ditch mud. Front wheel drive, the car was front wheel drive.

“Do you have the Rocky IV soundtrack, I think we are gonna need ‘Eye of the Tiger’ to get you out of this,” I said as I bent down to look at the tire in the ditch.

“Hold on, I’ll be right back,” I said, heading inside.

“Are you going to get a board,” Karrie asked, and I said, “Yes, and my camera.”

“Okay, good idea, and I can climb up on the back bumper and…”

“We’ll see, I’ll be right back.”

I found a couple of boards downstairs in Lori’s basement, grabbed my camera and went back outside. I put the wood under the tires and climbed in to see if I could back it out.

I couldn’t, the tire tried to grab but it was still spinning as the engine roared like hairdryer on HIGH.  I got out and Karrie started to mention the back bumper again but then unexpectedly switched to the front. “What if we pushed the front bumper,” she suggested.

“That’s a good idea,” I said.

I had my camera and really wanted Lori to take a picture of us pushing the car out of the ditch but not knowing Jenn very well and starting to think we might have to call a tow truck I held off.

So  I adjusted the boards again, Jenn got in the driver’s seat, put in her Rocky IV soundtrack and pumped up “Eye of the Tiger” as Lori, Karrie, and I readied ourselves to muscle the car out of the ditch.

Lori and Karrie grunted and we pushed as hard as we could and slowly as the engine revved like a blender on puree, the front right tire grabbed the board easing the car backwards as the back left end fell from the sky like manna.

Lori and Karrie grunting and pushing as hard as they could lost their balance as Jenn’s car hopped back up onto the driveway nearly fell head first into the ditch.

Heroes! We were heroes! The car was out of the ditch and after a quick inspection looked no worse for wear. We laughed about how she had just driven off the driveway and she said, “I can’t believe I did that, I just had a moment.”

Lori, the consummate hostess, turned to Jenn and said, “No harm, no foul,” and then turned to Karrie and said, “If you want to jump on that bumper you better get on it, she probably won’t drive in the ditch again.”



SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.
Leave a Reply

