Photo of the Week- Week of 23jan2010

NOTE: As many of you know, I got married December 31, 2009. In the weeks leading up to, and in the few weeks following, I was super busy and fell behind with my Photo of the Day. Sorry.

I am trying to catch up on that by doing “Photo of the Week” for these many weeks. I hope this will appease my mother-in-law, if not then Groundhog Day Dinner is going to be awkward.

So, without further adieu… here is the Photo of the Week for the week ending 23jan2010:

Ashley and I went on a cruise to the Bahamas for our honeymoon. While we were there we went shopping in “The Straw Market”. The Straw Market is a flea market type shopping area full of traditional Bahamian products that tourist can buy as souvenirs for themselves and others.

As we were shopping, and admittedly after I had already bought a straw hat for myself, we started looking for a souvenir for my mom. We came to a booth where this guy named George was carving beach scenes and names into conch shells and we saw this really cool wind chime that we thought would be perfect for her. (We actually liked it so much that we got one for ourselves too.)

This week we finally took it to her.

See! See how cool that is! We were telling her how we got it in The Straw Market, it is an original piece of art made by this guy named George in the Bahamas. I explained to her about his booth and how he was carving stuff into sea shells and how he made everything and she was saying that she loved it and could wait to hang it up so I was helping her with that when we noticed this:

Update: George is a liar.

So it turns out the awesome handmade “Bahamian” wind chime we got for my mom (and ourselves) was made in the Philippines. Awesome.

SUBSCRIBE and receive email updates from KevinTheCoolGuy.com.

One Response to “Photo of the Week- Week of 23jan2010”

  1. Amityvillain Says:

    I like to believe that it’s because George is THAT GOOD! He is soooo good, that other countries buy his one-of-a-kind objects, but he sells it for them (cause I believe it’s that he doesn’t like to let other people handle his art).

    Wanna know how good George is???

    He is so good, that you, too, like myself, will eventually find your one-of-a-kind original made in the Bahamas (and if you ever visit…Mexico and some Antilles islands) hanging/sitting/draping/laying in someone else’s house, and it will look EXACTLY LIKE YOURS!!!

    Nary a thread/curve/indention will be off. The color may be slightly different, but I attribute that to artists vision, or wear and tear.

    Cause I don’t want to believe that shell-whittling is actually George’s hobby and his real job is salesman/cashier on a nice tropical island.

Leave a Reply

